Photovoltaics Extreme

Gebaeude Einbau Solarmodule Effektivität
© MEV-Verlag

Solar modules integrated into façades offer a great deal of potential especially in the Earth’s sunbelt (here the Sheikh Zayed Road business district in Dubai)

The Earth’s sunbelt is particularly attractive for the use of photovoltaics: The strong sunshine that prevails between Southern Spain and South Africa can be used for solar energy. Yet solar modules frequently have to contend with other conditions in this region: high temperature differences between day and night and heavy dew in the early morning hours. In the »PV Extreme« research project the Fraunhofer IMWS, together with its partners, is developing and optimizing suitable materials for photovoltaics under such extreme conditions – including for solar modules, which can be directly integrated into the façades of buildings.

The market potential for photovoltaics in the global sunbelt, which covers 148 countries in total, is enormous. On the one hand, solar systems can be connected there over large areas to form solar power stations. On the other hand, due to the high levels of solar radiation, building-integrated solar modules that can be used in façade systems of high-rise buildings or other structures, are also particularly attractive.

All components of a solar module, from the solar cell to the encapsulation material and the tabbing wire through to the solar module glass cover, must be able to withstand the stresses of the conditions that exist, for example, in desert regions. »Compared to use in Germany say, the temperatures, temperature distances and radiation exposure, especially the extreme UV radiation, are significantly higher in these regions. As moisture frequently deposits on the modules during the early hours of the morning, the electrical requirements are also increased«, said Dr. Stefan Schulze, who heads the project at the Fraunhofer IMWS.

In the »PV Extreme« project, which is funded by the Ministry of Economy, Science and Digitization of the State of Saxony-Anhalt, the partners of the Fraunhofer IMWS, Fraunhofer CSP and the packaging film manufacturer Folienwerk Wolfen, are using new types of polymer films as the encapsulation material. These are particularly heat and ageing resistant and have already proven that they are also suitable for applications in building integration. The project partners will determine which requirements the material must be able to fulfil, what the effects of the interactions of the various climatic conditions are and what materials already on the market, raw polymers, polymer mixtures to be created, multilayer films and additives have the optimum properties for these requirements. They will not only assess the (thermo)mechanical properties, but will also take into account the optical properties of the composite materials, possible physical ageing effects and economic aspects such as availability, price and sales potential.

In addition to the new materials, methods will also be developed in the project, in order to test the serviceability of solar modules in extreme climates and to adapt the manufacturing processes accordingly. In this way, it should be possible to produce solar modules which combine high yield with a high level of reliability and a long life. Project manager Stefan Schulze: »If we succeed in this, we will not only have made a decisive contribution to the increased use of photovoltaics in the Earth’s sunbelt – and thus to climate protection. We will also secure ourselves an ideal competitive position in the expansion of solar power in these countries.«

Photovoltaik extrem

Gebaeude Einbau Solarmodule Effektivität
© MEV-Verlag

In Fassaden integrierte Solarmodule bieten vor allem im Sonnengürtel der Erde (hier das Businessviertel Sheikh Zaid Road in Dubai) große Potenziale.

Der Sonnengürtel der Erde ist für den Einsatz von Photovoltaik besonders attraktiv: Zwischen Südspanien und Südafrika herrscht eine starke Sonneneinstrahlung, die sich für Solarenergie nutzen lässt. Doch mit anderen Bedingungen in dieser Region haben Solarmodule häufig zu kämpfen: hohe Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Tag und Nacht und eine starke Nebelkondensation in den Morgenstunden. Im Forschungsprojekt »PV Extrem« entwickelt und optimiert das Fraunhofer IMWS gemeinsam mit Partnern geeignete Materialien für die Photovoltaik unter solch extremen Bedingungen – auch für Solarmodule, die direkt in die Fassaden von Gebäuden integriert werden können.

Die Marktpotenziale für Photovoltaik im globalen Sonnengürtel, der insgesamt 148 Länder umfasst, sind enorm. Solaranlagen können dort einerseits auf großen Flächen zu Sonnenkraftwerken zusammengeschlossen werden. Andererseits sind wegen der hohen Sonneneinstrahlung auch gebäudeintegrierte Solarmodule, wie sie in Fassadensystemen von Hochhäusern oder anderen Bauwerken angewendet werden können, besonders attraktiv.

Alle Komponenten eines Solarmoduls, von der Solarzelle über das Verkapselungsmaterial und die Lötbändchen bis hin zum Abdeckungsglas, müssen dabei aber den Belastungen etwa in Wüstenregionen gewachsen sein. »Im Vergleich zum Einsatz beispielsweise in Deutschland sind die Temperaturen, Temperaturunterschiede und die Strahlungsbelastung, insbesondere hinsichtlich der extremen UV-Strahlung, in diesen Regionen deutlich höher. Da sich in den Morgenstunden häufig Feuchtigkeit auf den Modulen absetzt, steigen zudem die elektrischen Anforderungen«, sagt Dr. Stefan Schulze, der das Projekt am Fraunhofer IMWS leitet.

Im Projekt »PV Extrem«, das vom Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt gefördert wird, setzen die Partner des Fraunhofer IMWS, Fraunhofer CSP und des Folienwerks Wolfen  auf neuartige Kunststofffolien als Einkapselungsmaterial. Diese sind besonders hitze- und alterungsbeständig und haben bereits bewiesen, dass sie auch für Anwendungen in der Gebäudeintegration geeignet sind. Die Projektpartner werden ermitteln, welchen Anforderungen das Material gewachsen sein muss, wie die Wechselwirkungen der verschiedenen klimatischen Bedingungen sich auswirken und welche am Markt befindlichen Materialien, Rohpolymere, zu erstellende Polymermischungen, Mehrlagenfolien und Additive die optimalen Eigenschaften für diese Anforderungen aufweisen. Dabei werden nicht nur (thermo)mechanische Eigenschaften bewertet, sondern auch die optischen Eigenschaften der Verbundmaterialien, mögliche physikalische Alterungseffekte und wirtschaftliche Aspekte wie Verfügbarkeit, Preis und Absatzmöglichkeiten berücksichtigt.

Neben den neuen Materialien werden im Projekt auch Methoden entwickelt, um die Einsatzfähigkeit von Solarmodulen in extremen Klimaten zu testen und die Herstellungsverfahren entsprechend anzupassen. So soll es möglich werden, Solarmodule zu produzieren, die auch unter extremen klimatischen Bedingungen eine hohe Stromausbeute mit einer hohen Zuverlässigkeit und Lebensdauer verbinden. Projektleiter Stefan Schulze: »Wenn dies gelingt, haben wir nicht nur einen entscheidenden Beitrag zum verstärkten Einsatz von Photovoltaik im Sonnengürtel der Erde – und damit zum Klimaschutz – geleistet. Wir sichern uns auch eine ideale Wettbewerbsposition beim Ausbau der Sonnenenergie in diesen Ländern.«