Material Characterization

© Fraunhofer CSP

Module with ultrasonic transducers.

A characterization of the physical properties of materials is an important condition for the reliability assessment, age determination and the quality assurance of PV module components. Apart from standard test methods (e.g. tensile and bending tests, peel tests) the Fraunhofer CSP also offers special customized test procedures, such as the strength assessment of encapsulated solar cells and an in-laminate fatigue strength evaluation of solar cell interconnectors. These tests may always constitute the basis for model building and further simulations. In addition, individual tests can be carried out and developed on request of our customers. In combination with age tests, we are able to retrace the alteration of material properties.

Services

  • Determination of material characteristics (e.g. Young’s modulus, Poisson’s ratio, yield stress)
  • Assessment of the strength of solar glass according to DIN 1288
  • Strength assessment and crack examination of encapsulated solar cells
  • Non-destructive characterization of elastic and microstructural properties solar module components with ultrasound
  • Assessment of the fatigue strength of solar cell interconnectors
  • Measurement of the thermal profile of polymer materials as well as material combinations by means of differential heat flow calorimetry (DSC), rotation rheometer and thermomechanical analysis (TMA)
  • Determination of the degree of cross-linking after lamination by applying Soxhlet extraction
  • Polymer analytics (YI, UV-Vis, FTIR, DSC, DMA)

Examples

© Fraunhofer CSP

Step-by-step electroluminescence shots provide information about the cracks in the solar module resulting from a certain mechanical load.

Investigation of Cracks in Encapsulated Solar Cells

Cracks in solar cells are a common problem in everyday practice. They affect the module performance and - in the worst case - can lead to short circuits. In order to investigate these cracks, at Fraunhofer CSP we developed a method, exposing the solar cells in the module laminate to mechanical stresses under defined conditions. For this purpose, we combined a universal testing machine with a 4-point bending device with an electroluminescent camera (EL camera) and programmed an automatic test sequence. While the load is continously increased, an EL pick-up is generated for each load step, so that at the end of the test, cracks can be exactly assigned to the load at which they were created. With the help of a finite element simulation, a fracture stress can be assigned to each crack development. As a result, a so-called in-laminate strength can be calculated. It is thus possible to analyze future module designs with novel solar cells, glasses or encapsulation materials under defined laboratory conditions and to predict the likelihood of cracking under a certain mechanical load.

© Fraunhofer CSP

The mechanical strength of glass can be checked using the double-ring method on plate-shaped samples with large test areas (DIN EN ISO 1288-2).

Investigation of Optical Quality and Mechanical Reliability of Solar Glass

As a supporting element, glass has a decisive influence on the efficiency of photovoltaic modules. Their reliability is significantly determined by the strength of the glass. In addition, there is a need for research on the extent to which the optical properties are influenced by the manufacturing processes during PV module production.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Module with ultrasonic transducers.

Characterization of Elastic and Microstructural Properties of Solar Module Components with Ultrasound

The properties of its individual components are crucial for the reliability of a solar module. In order to be able to measure and monitor the mechanical and microstructural properties of various solar module components during production, we use novel ultrasonic characterization methods. For example, it was possible to determine the effective modulus of elasticity, the Poisson's number, the flow stress as well as the mean grain size and orientation of solar cell connectors without destruction.

© Fraunhofer CSP

On the basis of specific experiments, the fatigue behavior of solar cell connectors can be simulated under varying mechanical and thermomechanical loads.

Connector Fatigue

The fatigue of solar cell connectors is a decisive defect of solar modules. A connector failure affects the module's series resistance, resulting in power loss, locally elevated temperatures, and safety issues during operation (electric arc). A load on the connectors takes place when the cells move relative to one another due to temperature changes or mechanical module loads. By means of specific experiments, we examine the constitutive (stress-strain behavior) and fatigue behavior of the connector materials. We use the material data obtained in finite element models to calculate the lifetime (cycles to break) in the specific PV module under arbitrarily changing mechanical and thermomechanical loads.

Conductive Adhesive as Solder Alternative

Conductive adhesives are a promising alternative to standard soldering processes. The advantages are the lower process temperatures (<150 ° C), relatively simple process technology with the possibility of automation and environmental friendliness, since no lead and flux are used.
At the Fraunhofer CSP, we are able to characterize all relevant properties: The processing properties are determined by means of thermoanalytical methods (DSC, TGA, DMA, TMA). Structures for the determination of volume resistance and contact resistance can be produced and measured as required. We evaluate the mechanical properties of the adhesive joints by means of standard peel tests as well as special test sets which also include electrical characteristic values.

Materialcharakterisierung

© Fraunhofer CSP

Modul mit Ultraschallwandlern.

Die Charakterisierung der physikalischen Werkstoffeigenschaften ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung bei der Zuverlässigkeitsbewertung, Alterungsuntersuchung und Qualitätssicherung von PV-Modulkomponenten. Das Fraunhofer CSP bietet neben Standardprüfverfahren (z. B. Zug- und Biegeversuche, Peel-Tests) auch speziell angepasste Prüfungen, wie die Festigkeitsbewertung von verkapselten Solarzellen und die In-Laminat Ermüdungsprüfung von Solarzellenverbindern. Diese Untersuchungen können stets eine Grundlage für eine Modellierung und weiterführende Simulationen bilden. Weiterhin können auf Kundenwunsch individuelle Prüfungen durchgeführt und entwickelt werden. In Kombination mit Alterungsuntersuchungen kann die Veränderung der Materialeigenschaften verfolgt werden.

Leistungen

  • Ermittlung von Materialkennwerten (z. B. E-Modul, Querkontraktion, Fließspannung)
  • Festigkeitsbewertung von Solarglas nach DIN 1288
  • Festigkeitsbewertung und Rissuntersuchung von verkapselten Solarzellen
  • zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung elastischer und mikrostruktureller Eigenschaften von Solarmodulkomponenten mit Ultraschall
  • Bewertung der Ermüdungsfestigkeit von Solarzellenverbindern
  • Erstellung eines thermischen Profils von Polymermaterialien wie auch Materialkombinationen mittels  Differentieller-Wärmestrom-Kalorimetrie (DSC), Rotationsrheometer und Thermo-Mechanischer Analyse (TMA)
  • Ermittlung des Vernetzungsgrades nach der Lamination mittels Soxhlet-Extraktion
  • Polymeranalytik (YI, UV-Vis, FTIR, DSC, DMA)

Beispiele

© Fraunhofer CSP

Schrittweise Elektrolumineszenzaufnahmen geben Aufschluss über die bei einer bestimmten mechanischen belastung entstandenen Risse im Solarmodul.

Untersuchung von Rissen in verkapselten Solarzellen

Risse in Solarzellen sind in der alltäglichen Praxis ein häufig auftretendes Problem. Sie beeinträchtigen die Modulleistung und können im schlimmsten Fall zu Kurzschlüssen führen.
Zur Untersuchung dieser Risse wurde am Fraunhofer CSP ein Verfahren entwickelt, bei dem Solarzellen im Modullaminat unter definierten Randbedingungen mechanischen Belastungen ausgesetzt werden. Dazu kombinierten wir eine Universalprüfmaschine mit 4-Punkt-Biegeeinrichtung mit einer Elektrolumineszenz-Kamera (EL-Kamera) und programmierten einen automatischen Versuchsablauf. Während die Belastung schrittweise erhöht wird, erzeugt man bei jedem Lastschritt eine EL-Aufnahme, sodass am Ende des Versuchs Risse exakt der Belastung zugeordnet werden können, bei der sie entstanden sind. Mit Hilfe von Ergebnissen aus einer Finite-Elemente-Simulation kann jeder Rissentstehung eine Bruchspannung zugeordnet werden. Als Ergebnis lässt sich eine sogenannte In-Laminat-Festigkeit berechnen. Damit ist es möglich zukünftige Modulaufbauten mit neuartigen Solarzellen, Gläsern oder Verkapselungsmaterialien unter definierten Laborbedingungen zu analysieren und die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Rissbildung unter einer bestimmten mechanischen Belastung vorherzusagen.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Mithilfe des Doppelring-Verfahrens an plattenförmigen Proben mit großen Prüfflächen (DIN EN ISO 1288-2) lässt sich die mechanische Festigkeit von Glas überprüfen.

Untersuchung optischer Qualität und mechanischer Zuverlässigkeit von Solarglas

Als tragendes Element hat Glas maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die Effizienz von Photovoltaik-Modulen. Deren Zuverlässigkeit wird in entscheidendem Maße durch die Festigkeit des Glases bestimmt. Darüber hinaus besteht Forschungsbedarf dazu, inwieweit die optischen Eigenschaften durch die Verarbeitungsprozesse während der PV-Modul-Herstellung beeinflusst werden.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Modul mit Ultraschallwandlern.

Charakterisierung elastischer und mikrostruktureller Eigenschaften von Solarmodulkomponenten mit Ultraschall

Für die Zuverlässigkeit eines Solarmoduls sind die Eigenschaften der einzelnen Komponenten von entscheidender Bedeutung. Um die mechanischen und mikrostrukturellen Eigenschaften verschiedener Solarmodulkomponenten während der Produktion messen und überwachen zu können, setzen wir auf neuartige Ultraschallcharakterisierungsverfahren. So gelang es beispielsweise, den effektiven Elastizitätsmodul, die Poissonzahl, die Fließspannung sowie die mittlere Korngröße und -orientierung von Solarzellenverbindern zerstörungsfrei zu bestimmen.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Anhand spezifischer Experimente lässt sich das Ermüdungsverhalten von Solarzellenverbindern unter wechselnder mechanischer und thermo-mechanischer Belastung simulieren.

Verbinderermüdung

Die Ermüdung von Solarzellenverbindern ist eine entscheidende Versagensart von Solarmodulen. Ein Verbinderausfall beeinflusst den Serienwiderstand des Moduls und führt somit zu Leistungsverlust, lokal erhöhten Temperaturen bis hin zu Sicherheitsproblemen während des Betriebs (Lichtbogen). Eine Belastung der Verbinder findet statt, wenn sich die Zellen relativ zueinander aufgrund von Temperaturänderungen oder mechanischen Modulbelastungen verschieben. Mit spezifischen Experimenten untersuchen wir das Konstitutiv- (Spannung-Dehnungs-Verhalten) und Ermüdungsverhalten der Verbindermaterialien. Die erhaltenen Materialdaten nutzen wir in Finite-Element-Modellen, um die Lebensdauer (Zyklen bis Bruch) im spezifischen PV-Modul unter beliebig wechselnder mechanischer und thermo-mechanischer Belastung zu berechnen.

Leitkleber als Lötalternative

Leitkleber sind eine vielversprechende Alternative zu Standardlötverfahren. Vorteile sind die geringeren Prozesstemperaturen (<150°C), relativ einfache Prozesstechnologie mit der Möglichkeit der Automatisierung und die Umweltfreundlichkeit, da kein Blei und Flussmittel zum Einsatz kommt.
Am Fraunhofer CSP sind  wir in der Lage, alle relevanten Eigenschaften zu charakterisieren: Die Verarbeitungseigenschaften bestimmen wir mittels Thermoanalytischer Methoden (DSC, TGA, DMA, TMA). Strukturen zur Bestimmung von Volumenwiderstand und Kontaktwiderstand lassen sich nach Bedarf herstellen und vermessen. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften der Klebeverbindungen bewerten wir mit Hilfe von Standard-Peeltests als auch spezieller Testsetups, die auch die elektrischen Kennwerte einbeziehen.