Finite Elemente Simulation

© Fraunhofer CSP

FES-image of the wind-speed distribution around a solar module frontally exposed to wind. The arrows indicate the direction of the air currents.

As a part of our method portfolio, the finite-element method is applied to photovoltaics, especially in the field of structural mechanics in order to determine deformations and stresses in module components exposed to mechanical loads (wind, snow). Other fields of application are thermodynamics (calculation of temperature distribution and heat transport), the simulation of wind flow (pressure distribution, calculation of heat transition) as well as the electric simulation (currents and electric fields). The various physical tasks can also be studied in various combinations.

The results of finite-element simulation are applied to reliability and fatigue strength assessments of module components. Furthermore, they can be applied to optimize processing steps of production processes, such as soldering or lamination. The results ultimately produce a variety of interpretations, for example, for robustness evaluations or the definition of quality criteria.

Services

  • Material model building and characterizations (e.g. viscoelasticity, elastic-plastic)
  • Simulation of the structural mechanics of components and complete solar modules as well as the system technology
  • Temperature field simulation of manufacturing processes and operating conditions
  • Thermomechanical simulation of PV components, modules and systems
  • Flow simulation of solar modules and systems
  • Simulation of multi-physical tasks
  • Execution of optimizations, robustness and sensitivity studies
  • Reliability evaluation of
    • PV components (connectors, solar cell, glass, encapsulating material)
    • Modules and systems (holders, substructures)

Examples

© Fraunhofer CSP

Simulation model of the infrared soldering process (left) and resulting temperature distribution in the wafer during the soldering process (right).

Thermomechanical Simulation of PV Components and Modules

Thermomechanical stresses occur in PV modules whenever the temperature changes because the individual components have different coefficients of expansion. In the field of module production, in particuöar the soldering process and the lamination of the solar cells cause stresses for the solar cells. During operation, temperature changes occur due to day and night changes as well as seasons. The Thermocycle test is an over-imitation of these stresses.
In order to evaluate the stresses of the components right during the processes, we work with finite-element simulation models. The mechanical stresses arising as a result of different solder materials and material properties can be compared during the soldering of the cells and allow to derive the resulting optimization potentials.
The simulation of the cell shift in a module under temperature changes is an important tool for evaluating the fatigue strength of the cell connectors. On the basis of the results, the cycles can be estimated until failure. Among other things, we investigate the impact of the encapsulation material and the backsheet on these cycles until failure. The calculation of the stresses in the cells after soldering and laminating can be superimposed with mechanical simulation results in further steps in order to evaluate the breaking behavior of the cells more precisely.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Distribution of the first main voltage in the cells with frontal inflow and 30 ° (left), 60 ° (middle) and 90 ° (right) Module inclination (low voltage = blue ... high voltage = red).

Fluid Dynamics Simulation of Solar Modules

With the help of flow simulations (CFD) we are able to simulate the wind pressure distribution on a module and the associated stress distribution in the glass and the cells under real conditions. Furthermore, it is possible tp calculate the local heat transfer conditions and the resulting temperature distribution in the module.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Simulation for the plastic expansion of mountings for PV modules.

Reliability Assessment

Using mechanical simulations, storage variants can be individually optimized, compared with each other, and the optimal variant can be determined. Alternatively, for quality control purposes, it is possible to determine the minimum requirements for the strength parameters for a defined storage.

Finite Elemente Simulation

© Fraunhofer CSP

FEM-Aufnahme der Windgeschwindigkeitsverteilung um ein frontal angeströmtes Solarmodul. Die Pfeile geben die Richtung der Luftströmung an.

Im Rahmen unseres Methodenportfolios kommt die Finite-Elemente-Methode in der Photovoltaik vor allem auf dem Gebiet der Strukturmechanik zur Ermittlung der Deformationen und Spannungen in den Modulkomponenten unter mechanischer Belastung (Wind, Schnee) zum Einsatz. Weitere Anwendungsgebiete sind die Thermodynamik (Berechnung von Temperaturverteilung und Wärmetransport), die Strömungssimulation (Druckverteilung, Wärmeübergangsberechnung) sowie auch die elektrische Simulation (Ströme und elektrische Felder). Die verschiedenen physikalischen Aufgabenstellungen können dabei auch kombiniert betrachtet werden.

Die Ergebnisse der Finite-Elemente-Simulation werden u. a. zur Bewertung der Zuverlässigkeit und Ermüdungsfestigkeit von Modulkomponenten eingesetzt. Des Weiteren können Sie zur Optimierung von Prozessschritten in Produktionsprozessen, wie z. B. Löten oder Laminieren, eingesetzt werden. Ergebnisse liefern letztlich vielfältige Interpretationen z. B. für Robustheitsbewertungen oder die Definition von Qualitätskriterien.

Leistungen

  • Materialmodellerstellung und Kennwertbestimmung (u. a. Viskoelastizität, elastisch-plastisch)
  • Strukturmechaniksimulation an Komponenten und vollständigen Solarmodulen sowie der Systemtechnik
  • Temperaturfeldsimulation von Herstellungsprozessen und Betriebszuständen
  • Thermomechanische Simulation von PV-Komponenten, Modulen und Systemen
  • Strömungssimulationen von Solarmodulen und Systemen
  • Simulation multiphysikalischer Aufgabenstellungen
  • Durchführung von Optimierung, Robustheits- und Sensitivitätsstudien
  • Zuverlässigkeitsbewertung von
    • PV-Komponenten (Verbinder, Solarzelle, Glas, Verkapselungsmaterial)
    • Modulen und Systemen (Halterungen, Unterkonstruktionen)

Beispiele

© Fraunhofer CSP

Simulationsmodell des Infrarot- Lötprozesses (links) und resultierende Temperaturverteilung im Wafer während des Lötprozesses (rechts).

Thermomechanische Simulation von PV-Komponenten und -Modulen

Thermomechanische Beanspruchungen treten in PV-Modulen stets dann auf, wenn sich die Temperatur ändert, da die einzelnen Komponenten unterschiedliche Ausdehnungskoeffizienten besitzen. In der Modulfertigung sorgen vor allem der Lötprozess und die Lamination für Beanspruchungen der Solarzellen. Im Betrieb entstehen Temperaturwechsel durch Tag- und Nachtwechsel sowie Jahreszeiten. Eine überhöhte Nachbildung dieser Belastungen ist der Thermocycle-Test.
Um die Beanspruchungen der Komponenten während der Prozesse zu bewerten, arbeiten wir mit Finite-Elemente Simulationsmodellen.
Es können die aufgrund unterschiedlicher Lotwerkstoffe und Materialeigenschaften entstehenden mechanischen Spannungen beim Verlöten der Zellen verglichen und die daraus resultierenden Optimierungspotentiale abgeleitet werden.
Die Simulation der Zellverschiebung in einem Modul unter Temperaturwechseln ist ein wichtiges Hilfsmittel zur Bewertung der Ermüdungsfestigkeit der Zellverbinder. Auf Basis der Ergebnisse lassen sich die Zyklen bis zum Versagen abschätzen. Unter anderem untersuchen wir den Einfluss des Verkapselungsmaterials und der Rückseitenfolie auf diese Zyklen bis zum Versagen. Die Berechnung der Spannungen in den Zellen nach dem Löten und Laminieren lässt sich in weiteren Schritten mit Ergebnissen der mechanischen Simulation überlagern, um das Bruchverhalten der Zellen exakter zu bewerten.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Verteilung der 1. Hauptspannung in den Zellen bei frontaler Anströmung und 30° (links), 60° (Mitte) und 90° (rechts) Modulneigung (geringe Spannung = blau … hohe Spannung = rot).

Fluiddynamiksimulation von Solarmodulen

Mit Hilfe von Strömungssimulationen (CFD) simulieren wir die Winddruckverteilung an einem Modul und die zugehörige Spannungsverteilung im Glas und in den Zellen unter realen Bedingungen. Weiterhin lassen sich die lokalen Wärmeübergangsbedingungen und die daraus resultierende Temperaturverteilung im Modul berechnen.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Simulation zur plastischen Dehnung von Halterungsvarianten für PV-Module.

Zuverlässigkeitsbewertung

Mit mechanischen Simulationen können Lagerungsvarianten einzeln optimiert, untereinander verglichen und die optimale Variante ermittelt werden. Alternativ lassen sich auch für eine definierte Lagerung die Mindestanforderungen für die Festigkeitsparameter für die Qualitätskontrolle bestimmen.