Sensitive Trace Element Analytics

© Fraunhofer CSP

The ICP-MS is loaded with samples.

We provide comprehensive chemical analytics for customers from the photovoltaics sector. The core sector of our R&D services is ultra-trace analytics in all relevant materials: silicon, silane, CIGS, quartz crucibles, sawing slurry, etc. We provide the determination of total concentrations as low as the ppt range as well as the sensitive chemical characterization of surfaces and interfaces. Regardless of whether it's about metals, doping substances, organic contaminations or surface energies – all methods are tuned to the special purity requirements of semiconductor materials.

Depending on our customer's preferences, we offer both plain analytical services as well the identification of causes and complex problem solutions.

Services

  • Ultra-trace analytics in bulk materials: quantitative determination of contaminations and doping agents
  • Surface and interface analytics: quantitative determination of inorganic/organic contaminations as well as surface energy
  • Development of adjusted analytical methods, for example, for process monitoring and quality control
  • Training and consultation in trace element analytics
  • Rent-a-Scientist

Examples

© Fraunhofer CSP

Experimental CZ silicon crystal and vertical concentration profile of impurities (example: aluminum).

Ultra Trace Analysis in Solids

A high purity of the starting materials is an elementary condition for high-power solar cells and semiconductor components. This is opposed by the pressure on the costs for the manufacturing processes. The highly sensitive, quantitative determination of contaminating elements in feedstock, crystals and wafers may help to assure the material quality necessary and optimize the energy-intensive processes.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Flow chart of the layer-specific element analysis.

Layer-specific Element Analysis

Processing steps like sawing, cracking and grinding produce surface contaminations which might also migrate deeper into the bulk material. A sensitive layer-specific element analysis can help to find out where the impurities are localized and how efficient cleaning might proceed. The analysis of wafers, chunks, granulate or powder samples is done by means of layer-specific etching and subsequent ICP-MS analysis.

  • Wahl, S., Meyer, S., Hagendorf, C., Localization of inorganic impurities in silicon samples by sequential etching and ICP-MS detection, 6th International Conference on Silicon Photovoltaics, SiliconPV 2016 (on Sciencedirect)
     

© Fraunhofer CSP

Surface tension determined after contact angle analysis.

Characterization of Wafer Surfaces

Regardless of the semiconductor type involved, inorganic and organic contaminations on the wafer's surface have a negative impact on the subsequent processing steps and the final function of the component. The quantitative determination of the physicochemical surface properties enables a reliable product and process monitoring. Apart from the surface TOC (total organic carbon) analysis in order to achieve an integral quantification of the organic contaminants and contact angle mapping to determine the homogeneity of the surface energy, we can determine metallic contaminations sensitively and quantitatively by applying SE (surface extraction) ICP-MS.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Molecular structure of hexachlorodisilane (HCDS).

Sensitive Trace Analysis in Hexachlorodisilane

Nowadays hexachlorodisilane (HCDS) is applied in microelectronics as a precursor especially for the deposition of silicon nitride and silicon oxinitride films. It is used instead of monomeric precursors whenever low temperatures are demanded for CVD deposition processes. Concomitantly, the purity requirements increase, especially with regard to the metallic contaminations which might induce damage in the active regions of the circuit structure by way of diffusion. The Fraunhofer CSP is able to carry out sensitive and reliable HCDS analyses with detection limits that are distinctly below 1pbb and applicable to most elements.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Quantitative Elementanalyse in CIGS-Solarzellen.

Quantitative Element Analysis in CIGS Solar Cells

Quantitative element analysis is also interesting for manufacturers of CIGS solar cells. For quality control or process optimization, both the matrix elements of the TCO, buffer and absorber layers and the trace elements contained therein can be analyzed layer-selectively. This is done by serial removal of the individual layers with suitable etching solutions and subsequent quantitative determination of the element concentration in the solutions using ICP-OES or ICP-MS. The method is suitable for all substrate types and it has been shown that the results are comparable with reference methods such as ToF-SIMS or XRF.

K. Kaufmann, S. Wahl, S. Meyer, E. Jarzembowski, C. Hagendorf : Quantitative Analysis of Matrix Elements and Sodium in Photovoltaic Cu(In, Ga)Se2 Thin Films by the Use of Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry; 31st European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference and Exhibition 2015.

Sensitive Spurenanalytik

© Fraunhofer CSP

Die ICP-MS wird mit Proben bestückt.

Wir bieten umfangreiche chemische Analytik für Kunden aus der Photovoltaik-Branche. Der Kernbereich unserer F&E-Leistungen ist die Ultraspurenanalyse in allen relevanten Materialien: Silizium, Silan, CIGS, Quarztiegel, Sägeslurry u.a. Neben der Bestimmung von Gesamtkonzentrationen bis in den niedrigen ppb-Bereich stehen auch Methoden für die lokal aufgelöste Analyse zur Verfügung. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bildet die chemische Charakterisierung von Oberflächen und Grenzschichten. Ob Metalle, Dotierstoffe, organische Kontaminationen oder Oberflächenenergie – alle Methoden sind an die besonderen Reinheitsanforderungen von Halbleitermaterialien angepasst.

Je nach Kundenwunsch bieten wir sowohl einfache Analytik-Dienstleistungen als auch Ursachenaufklärungen und komplexe Problemlösungen an.

Leistungen

  • Ultraspurenanalyse im Volumen: quantitative Bestimmung von Kontaminationen und Dotierstoffen
  • Oberflächen- und Interfaceanalytik: quantitative Bestimmung anorganischer / organischer Kontaminationen sowie der Oberflächenenergie
  • Entwicklung angepasster analytischer Methoden z.B. für Prozessüberwachung und Qualitätskontrolle
  • Beratung und Training zum Thema Spurenanalyse
  • Rent-a-Scientist

Beispiele

© Fraunhofer CSP

Experimenteller CZ-Siliziumkristall und Höhenverlauf der Verunreinigungsgehalte (Beispiel: Aluminium).

Ultraspurenanalyse in Feststoffen

Eine hohe Reinheit der Ausgangsmaterialien ist die Grundvoraussetzung für leistungsstarke Solarzellen und Halbleiterbauelemente. Dem entgegen steht der Kostendruck auf die Fertigungsprozesse. Die hochsensitive quantitative Bestimmung der Fremdelemente in Feedstock, Kristallen und Wafern kann helfen, die notwendige Materialqualität zu sichern und energieintensive Prozesse zu optimieren.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Schematischer Ablauf der schichtspezifischen Elementanalyse.

Schichtspezifische Elementanalyse

Bearbeitungsschritte wie Sägen, Cracken und Schleifen verursachen Oberflächenkontaminationen, welche auch in tiefere Schichten migrieren können. Eine sensitive schichtspezifische Elementanalyse kann helfen herauszufinden, wo welche Verunreinigung lokalisiert ist und wie eine effiziente Reinigung erfolgen kann. Die Analyse von Wafern, Brocken, Granulat oder Pulverproben erfolgt durch schichtspezifische Ätzschritte und anschließende ICP-MS-Analyse.

  • Wahl, S., Meyer, S., Hagendorf, C., Localization of inorganic impurities in silicon samples by sequential etching and ICP-MS detection, 6th International Conference on Silicon Photovoltaics, SiliconPV 2016 (auf Sciencedirect)
     

© Fraunhofer CSP

Ermittelte Oberflächenspannung nach Kontaktwinkelanalyse.

Charakterisierung von Waferoberflächen

Unabhängig vom Halbleitertyp beeinträchtigen anorganische und organische Verunreinigungen auf Waferoberflächen die nachfolgenden Prozessschritte sowie die finale Bauteilfunktion. Die quantitative Bestimmung der physiko-chemischen Oberflächeneigenschaften ermöglicht eine zuverlässige Produkt- und Prozessüberwachung. Neben der Oberflächen-TOC (total organic carbon) -Analyse zur integralen Quantifizierung der organischen Verunreinigungen und dem Kontaktwinkelmapping zur Bestimmung der Homogenität der Oberflächenenergie können metallische Kontaminationen sensitiv und quantitativ mittels SE (surface extraction) -ICP-MS erfasst werden.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Molekülschema Hexachlordisilan (HCDS).

Sensitive Spurenanalyse in Hexachlordisilan

Hexachlordisilan (HCDS) wird heute in der Mikroelektronik als Precursor insbesondere für die Abscheidung von Schichten aus Siliciumnitrid und Siliciumoxinitrid eingesetzt. Es kommt anstelle von monomeren Precursoren dort zum Einsatz, wo besonders niedrige Temperaturen für CVD-Abscheidungsprozesse gefordert sind. Gleichzeitig steigen die Anforderungen an die Reinheit vor allem in Bezug auf metallische Verunreinigungen, die durch Diffusion Schäden in aktiven Regionen der Schaltkreisstruktur produzieren könnten. Mit Nachweisgrenzen von für die meisten Elemente deutlich unter 1 pbb können am Fraunhofer CSP sensitive und zuverlässige Analysen von HCDS durchgeführt werden.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Quantitative Elementanalyse in CIGS-Solarzellen.

Quantitative Elementanalyse in CIGS-Solarzellen

Die quantitative Elementanalyse ist auch für Hersteller von CIGS Solarzellen interessant. Für die Qualitätskontrolle oder die Prozessoptimierung können schichtselektiv sowohl die Matrixelemente der TCO-, Puffer- und Absorberschicht als auch die darin enthaltenen Spurenelemente analysiert werden. Dies geschieht durch serielles Ablösen der einzelnen Schichten mit geeigneten Ätzlösungen und anschließender quantitativer Bestimmung der Elementkonzentration in den Lösungen mittels ICP-OES oder ICP-MS. Die Methode ist für alle Substrattypen geeignet und es konnte gezeigt werden, dass die Ergebnisse mit Referenzmethoden wie ToF-SIMS oder XRF vergleichbar sind.

K. Kaufmann, S. Wahl, S. Meyer, E. Jarzembowski, C. Hagendorf : Quantitative Analysis of Matrix Elements and Sodium in Photovoltaic Cu(In, Ga)Se2 Thin Films by the Use of Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry; 31st European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference and Exhibition 2015.