Development of Processes and Measures for Efficiency Improvement and New Materials

© Fraunhofer CSP

Robot for cell string pickup.

The Module Technology Center (MTC) in Schkopau manufactures solar modules in all standard and special sizes of up to 2.2m x 2.6m. Equipment comprises an automatic tabber springer (X3 of X-cell automation), an automatic layup (USK), an industrial laminator (Meier Solar Solutions), a xenon flasher (Berger) and an electroluminescence (pi4). The development activities concentrate on the reduction of the electricity generation costs in the module by means of power enhancement (CTM), cost reduction (material), increased throughput rates (processes) or yield increase (process control).

Services

  • Production of solar modules
  • Process development for new materials
  • Development and evaluation of new processes

Examples

© Fraunhofer CSP

Robot for cell string layup.

Manufacture of Solar Modules

In order to reduce electricity generation costs in solar models and increase the module power at the same time, we are working on reducing the optical and electrical losses. To enhance the yield of a module, the development of shading-resistant circuits, the improvement of light coupling and, in general, an increase of the module's service life stand in the focus of our research services.
As far as module manufacturing is concerned, we contribute to the reduction of costs by developing new, cost-saving materials and to an increase in yields by means of an improved process control.

Info Flyer Module Technology Center

© Fraunhofer CSP

Solar cell soldering in IR soldering unit.

CTM Enhancement

In order to achieve protection against environmental influences and for an easy installation and handling, solar cells are wired and laminated in solar modules. This produces optical and electrical losses which reduce the power of the module. Dividing the solar cells in half reduces the currents in the cells and cell connectors by 50 percent and also reduces the serial resistance losses. This way, and by an intelligent wiring of the half-cells, solar modules with 15W more power could be manufactured. A solar module with 144 half-cells produces 330W, whereas the power of a corresponding reference module composed of 72 whole cells amounts to 315W. This is equivalent to a power increase of nearly 5 percent. The additional power is achieved by reducing the electrical losses and improving the optics within the solar modules. Field measurements of yields carried out over ten months demonstrated that the modules produce three percent more energy. The new development is the result of a one-year project conducted between the Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS) and the Fraunhofer-Center for Silicon Photovoltaics CSP.

Info Flyer CTM Characterization

© Fraunhofer CSP

One-third Cell Module.

One-third Cell Module

The one-third cell module of the Fraunhofer CSP manufactured at the Module Technology Center (MTC) in Schkopau displays five special features as compared with conventional modules.

The division of the solar cells reduces the electricity per each cell and thus the serial resistance losses in the cell connectors. As the serial resistance losses escalate with the square of the electrical current, the losses can be reduced to one-fourth by dividing the cells in two, and to one-ninth by dividing them into three parts.

Info Flyer One-third Cell Module

© Fraunhofer CSP

Microscopical cross-section of the soldered connection of a solar cell.

Analysis of Connection Technologies

By applying either destructive or nondestructive test methods we are able to assess and analyze the contact sites according to material scientific and microstructural criteria. Here, experiences acquired from the fields of microelectronics, automotive, power electronics, etc. are supported by our competences in evaluating the contact reliability of the single connection levels in integrated circuit packaging of photovoltaics.

Info Flyer Interconnection Technologies

© Fraunhofer CSP

Tabber stringer with induction solder unit.

Cell-String Manufacturing

At the Module Technology Center, we give you the opportunity to manufacture solar modules in small series and test new materials and manufacturing processes.

As we possess a tabber stringer of the latest generation, we can manufacture customized cell strings according to customer specifications (2-4 bus bars, whole cell/half-cell).

Info Flyer XCA_X3

Prozess- und Maßnahmenentwicklung für Leistungssteigerung und neue Materialien

© Fraunhofer CSP

Roboter zur Zellstringaufnahme.

Im Modultechnologiezentrum (MTZ) in Schkopau können Solarmodule in allen Standard- und Sondergrößen bis 2.2m x 2.6m hergestellt werden. Zur Ausstattung zählen ein automatischer Tabber-Stringer (X3 von X-Cell Automation), ein automatisches Layup (USK), ein Industrielaminator (Meier Solar Solutions), ein Xenon Flasher (Berger) und eine Elektrolumineszenz (pi4). Die Entwicklung konzentriert sich auf die Reduktion der Stromgestehungskosten im Modul durch Leistungssteigerung (CTM), Kostensenkung (Material), Durchsatzerhöhung (Prozesse) oder Ausbeuteerhöhung (Prozesskontrolle).

Leistungen

Herstellung von Solarmodulen

Prozessentwicklung für neue Materialien

Entwicklung und Bewertung neuer Prozesse

Beispiele

© Fraunhofer CSP

Roboter zur Zellstringablage.

Herstellung von Solarmodulen

Um Stromgestehungskosten in Solarmodulen zu reduzieren und gleichzeitig die Modulleistung zu erhöhen, arbeiten wir daran, optische und elektrische Verluste zu minimieren. Zur Steigerung des Modulertrags stehen zudem die Entwicklung verschattungsresistenter Verschaltungen, die Verbesserung der Lichteinkopplung und generell die Erhöhung der Modullebensdauer im Fokus unserer Forschungsdienstleistungen.
Im Hinblick auf die Modulherstellung tragen wir mit der Entwicklung neuer, kostengünstiger Materialien zu einer Reduzierung der Kosten und durch eine verbesserte Prozesskontrolle zu einer Vergrößerung der Ausbeute bei.

Infoblatt Modultechnologiezentrum

© Fraunhofer CSP

Solarzellverlötung in IR-Löteinheit

CTM-Steigerung

Solarzellen werden zum Schutz vor Umwelteinflüssen und zur einfachen Installation und Handhabung in Solarmodulen verschaltet und laminiert. Dabei reduzieren optische und elektrische Verluste die Leistung der Module. Durch das Halbieren der Solarzellen werden die Ströme in Zellen und Zellverbindern halbiert und die elektrischen Serienwiderstandsverluste reduziert. Auf diese Weise und durch eine geschickte Verschaltung der halben Zellen gelang es, Solarmodule mit 15 Watt mehr Leistung herzustellen. Ein Solarmodul mit 144 halben Zellen liefert 330 Watt, während die Leistung des entsprechenden Referenzmoduls mit 72 ganzen Zellen 315 Watt beträgt. Dies entspricht einer Leistungssteigerung von knapp 5%. Die zusätzliche Leistung wird dabei durch eine Reduktion der elektrischen Verluste und eine verbesserte Optik in den Solarmodulen erzielt. Im Freifeld haben Ertragsmessungen über zehn Monate gezeigt, dass die Module 3% an zusätzlicher Energie liefern. Die Neuentwicklung ist das Ergebnis eines einjährigen Projektes zwischen dem Solar Energie Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS) und dem Fraunhofer-Center für Silizium-Photovoltaik CSP.

Infoblatt CTM-Charakterisierung

© Fraunhofer CSP

Drittelzellenmodul.

Drittelzellenmodul

Das im Modultechnologiezentrum (MTZ) in Schkopau gefertigte Drittelzellenmodul des Fraunhofer CSP zeigt fünf Besonderheiten gegenüber herkömmlichen Modulen.
Durch geteilte Solarzellen reduzieren sich der Strom je Zelle und damit die Serienwiderstandsverluste in den Zellverbindern. Da die Serienwiderstandsverluste mit dem Quadrat des Stroms skalieren, können die Verluste durch das Halbieren der Zellen auf ein Viertel und durch das Dritteln der Zellen auf ein Neuntel reduziert werden.

Infoblatt Drittelzellenmodul

© Fraunhofer CSP

Mikroskopie-Querschliff durch den Lötkontakt einer Solarzelle.

Analyse von Verbindungstechnologien

Mit Hilfe sowohl zerstörungsfreier als auch zerstörender Prüfverfahren können wir die Kontaktstellen werkstoffwissenschaftlich und mikrostrukturell bewerten und analysieren. Dabei ergänzen sich die Erfahrungen aus den Bereichen Mikroelektronik, Automotive, Leistungselektronik etc. mit Kompetenzen zur Bewertung der Kontaktzuverlässigkeit der Einzelverbindungsniveaus in der Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik der Photovoltaik.

Infoblatt Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik

© Fraunhofer CSP

Tabber-Stringer mit Indukionslöteinheit.

Zellstring-Herstellung

Im Modultechnologiezentrum bieten wir die Möglichkeit zur Herstellung von Solarmodulen in Kleinserien und der Erprobung neuer Materialien und Fertigungsprozesse.
Mit der Verfügbarkeit eines Tabber-Stringers der neusten Gerätegeneration fertigen wir auf Kundenwunsch zugeschnittene Zellstrings (2-4 Busbars, Ganz-/ Halbzelle).

Infoblatt XCA_X3