Development of New Products for Specific Applications

© Fraunhofer CSP

Apart from cost-saving generation of electricity, specialized modules fulfill further application-specific tasks. At the Fraunhofer CSP we develop new processes and products for these specific applications.

Architecturally demanding solutions and the integration of solar cells into structures like car tops or roofings, require the adjustment of the photovoltaic elements to the respective structure in particular. Among them are, above all, the lamination of brittle solar cells on convex or curved substrates. In our current work we are concerned with the development of adjusted manufacturing procedures in order to embed brittle, crystalline solar cells on top of convex structures. The evaluation of module quality then proceeds by means of electroluminescence and power measurement, revealing that especially the type of the solar cells used has a decisive influence on the lamination quality.

A special focus is set on lightweight construction modules. Here, we optimize the lightweight of the modules, i.e. the value which reports what power can be achieved relative to the weight of the module [W/kg].

Services

  • Manufacture of specialized modules – light, convex, colored
  • Building-integrated photovoltaics (BIPV)
  • Vehicle-integrated photovoltaics (VIPV)
  • Manufacture of modules with small solar cells, e.g. calibration modules

Examples

© Fraunhofer CSP

Bike port in lightweight construction.

Bike port in lightweight construction

We designed a bike port in lightweight construction in order to combine the operational fields »lightweight construction« and »photovoltaics«. The prototype shows how an appealing design and a concomitant utilization of solar energy can be realized by highly efficient crystalline solar cells, apart from protecting parked bicycles against rain and sunshine.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Roof-integrated solar module system GiSMo.

Building-integrated SolarModule GiSMo

Our roof-integrated solar module system developed for the mass market combines the function of a roof coverage with photovoltaics in one product. The innovative shingle system, which relies on the overlap of the singe lightweight solar module carriers, compensates for seasonal roof expansions. The channels built into the overlapping areas enable the runoff of penetrating water as is usually the case with standard roof tiles, but not with other in-roof solar systems. The concept has advantages also when it comes to its rapid installation and exchanging the solar modules. In the overall costs for a roof-top solar system the actual solar modules make up approximately 22-25 percent of the price, while the remaining costs are incurred by additional elements and the often sophisticated installation. The weight of less than 9 kg/m2 per lightweight construction module accounts for an easy handling on the roof.

biegsam Integration Bau Design
© A. Heller, ai:L der HTWK Leipzig

A façade with facet optics enables a distinctly higher electricity yield. Small and flexible solar modules are perfect to serve this purpose.

In the C3 (carbon concrete composite) project more than 150 partners from science, industry, organizations and associations are committed to promote the application of carbon cement. Instead of mantling steel with concrete, as has been done in previous constructions, carbon-fiber constructs are now supposed to be mantled with concrete.

C3 is considered to be a moldable, stable, intelligent, low-pollution, better recyclable building material and fit for the integration of renewable energies. We at the Fraunhofer CSP are one of the project partners and concerned with the question of how photovoltaic elements can be integrated into cement and electrically wired so that an optimal electricity yield will be achieved.

Of three possible methods to achieve building integration we focus our attention on casting the solar modules directly into their corresponding recesses in the cement parts, laminating or gluing them onto concrete slabs, and finally the attachment of the solar modules by means of snap buttons and screws. The latter method would make the modules removable.

It showed that the electricity yield increases when the facades are not plane. The surface that can be exploited by photovoltaics is increased either by inclination, tilting, domes or facet optics.

Entwicklung neuer Produkte für spezifische Anwendungen

© Fraunhofer CSP

Sondermodule übernehmen neben der kostengünstigen Stromerzeugung weitere anwendungsspezifische Aufgaben. Am Fraunhofer CSP entwickeln wir neue Prozesse und Produkte für diese spezifischen Anwendungen.

Architektonisch anspruchsvolle Lösungen und die Integration von Solarzellen auf Strukturen wie Automobildächer oder Überdachungen, erfordern insbesondere die Anpassung photovoltaischen Elemente an die jeweilige Struktur. Dazu zählt vor allen Dingen, die Lamination  spröder Solarzellen auf gewölbte Substrate. In aktuellen Arbeiten beschäftigen wir uns mit der Entwicklung angepasster Fertigungsverfahren zur Einbettung spröder, kristalliner Solarzellen auf gewölbten Strukturen. Die Bewertung der Modulqualität erfolgt anschließend mittels Elektrolumineszenz und Leistungsmessung. Dabei wird deutlich, dass insbesondere die Art der verwendeten Solarzellen einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Laminationsqualität hat.

Ein besonderer Fokus liegt zudem auf Leichtbaumodulen. Hier optimieren wir das Leistungsgewicht der Module, d.h. den Wert, der angibt, welche Leistung sich entsprechend des Modulgewichts erzielen lässt [W/kg].

Leistungen

Herstellung von Sondermodulen – leicht, gewölbt, bunt

Gebäudeintegrierte Photovoltaik (BIPV)

Fahrzeugintegrierte Photovoltaik (VIPV)

Herstellung von Modulen mit kleinen Solarzellen, z.B. Kalibiermodule

Beispiele

© Fraunhofer CSP

Leichtbau-Bikeport.

Um die Gebiete »Leichtbau« und »Photovoltaik« miteinander zu verbinden, entwarfen wir ein Leichtbau-Bikeport. Der Prototyp zeigt, wie neben dem Schutz der abgestellten Fahrräder vor Regen und Sonne ein ansprechendes Design bei gleichzeitiger Nutzung solarer Energie mittels leistungsfähiger kristalliner Solarzellen realisiert werden kann.

© Fraunhofer CSP

Gebäudeintegriertes SolarModul GiSMo

Das für den Massenmarkt entwickelte dachintegrierte Leichtbau-Solarmodulsystem vereint die Funktion der Dachabdeckung und der Photovoltaik in einem Produkt. Durch das innovative Schindelsystem, welches zu einer Überlappung der einzelnen Leichtbau-Solarmodulträger führt, können jahreszeitlich bedingte Schwankungen in der Ausdehnung des Hausdaches ausgeglichen werden. Des Weiteren ermöglicht die Kanalführung in den Überlappungsbereichen ein Abfließen von eindringendem Wasser wie man es bei Standard-Dachziegeln, nicht aber in anderen Indach-Solarsystemen Anwendung findet. Auch hinsichtlich der sehr schnellen Installation und des Austausches der Solarmodule bietet dieses Konzept Vorteile. In den derzeitigen Gesamtkosten eines Aufdach-Solarsystems schlagen die eigentlichen Kosten für die Solarmodule mit ca. 22-25 % zu Buche, die restlichen Kosten stellen Zusatzelemente und die oft aufwändige Installation dar. Das Gewicht von weniger als 9 kg/m2 je Leichtbaumodul ermöglicht eine einfache Handhabung auf dem Dach.

biegsam Integration Bau Design
© A. Heller, ai:L der HTWK Leipzig

Eine Fassade in Facetten-Optik macht einen deutlich höheren Stromertrag möglich. Dafür sind kleine und flexible Solarmodule gefragt.

Im Projekt C3 (Carbon Concrete Composite) sind mehr als 150 Partner aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Verbänden und Vereinen engagiert, um den Einsatz von Karbonbeton voranzutreiben. Statt, wie bei der bisher üblichen Bauweise, Stahl mit Beton zu umhüllen, sollen künftig Karbonfaserkonstrukte mit Beton umhüllt werden.  

Der C3-Baustoff gilt als formbarer, stabiler, intelligenter, schadstoffärmer, besser recycelbar und fit für die Integration von erneuerbaren Energien. Als einer der Projektpartner gehen wir am Fraunhofer CSP der Frage nach, wie sich Photovoltaikelemente so in den Beton integrieren und elektrisch verschalten lassen, dass ein optimaler Stromertrag erreicht werden kann.

Als drei mögliche Wege der Gebäudeintegration untersuchen wir das direkte Eingießen der Solarmodule in die mit entsprechenden Aussparungen versehenen Betonbauteile, das Laminieren oder Kleben der Solarmodule auf die Betonplatten und schließlich die Befestigung der Solarmodule mit Druckknöpfen oder Schrauben. Auf diese Weise wären die Module abnehmbar.

Es zeigte sich, dass der Stromertrag steigt, wenn die Fassaden nicht plan sind. Durch Neigen, Kippen, Wölbungen oder eine Facetten-Optik lässt sich die für Photovoltaik nutzbare Fläche vergrößern.