Maximum Solar Power from the House Façade

Aesthetic and efficient at the same time: The outstanding design of the “SOLAR.shell” solar façade developed by architects from the Leipzig University of Applied Sciences (HTWK Leipzig) and scientists from Fraunhofer CSP means that it generates up to 50 percent more solar power than conventionally installed solar modules – and it looks good too.

more info

How House Walls Can Be Used as Solar Power Plants

At the Fraunhofer CSP, researchers want to integrate photovoltaics into carbon concrete composites.

more info

More Efficiency, Less Losses

A third-cell module, developed by the Fraunhofer CSP, increases the efficiency of the module by means of a special interconnection design and furthermore reduces losses during shading.

more info

Technology Line for Standard and Sondermodules

With its Module Technology Center, Fraunhofer CSP offers module manufacturers and material suppliers for joint application-oriented research projects a platform for the development of all production processes regarding photovoltaic module production.

Module Technology

Process and Product Development for Solar Modules

© Fraunhofer CSP

Robot for cell string layup.

In the field of module technology, we conduct research on standard modules and specialized modules. As far as standard modules are concerned, lowering the electricity generation costs is of primary importance. This can be achieved either by increasing the performance (cell-to-module power ratio – CTM), process development for new less expensive materials, or new and more efficient technologies.

Specialized modules fulfill important functions in specific photovoltaic applications. For example, we develop products, processes and materials to be used in buildings (BIPV – Building Integrated Photovoltaics) or in mobile applications (VIPV- Vehicle Integrated Photovoltaics).

We offer:

  • An automated technology line to manufacture solar modules in all formats up to 2.2m x 2.6m with a thickness of up to 5cm and a manual technology line to manufacture special modules in sizes of 1m x 2m with a thickness of up to 30cm.
  • Analytics to characterize solder connections and the optical properties of solar modules and solar module components
  • Simulation of optical, electrical and thermal properties of solar modules

Range of Services

 

Development of
Processes and Measures for Efficiency Improvement and New Materials

 

Development of New Products for Specific
Applications

Leichtbaumodule für die Stadt der Zukunft

Solarenergie im Dreieck: Mit einem ultraleichten Solarmodul in Dreiecksform präsentierte sich das Fraunhofer CSP am 20. April 2018 beim Zukunftsstadt-Wettbewerb halle.neu.stadt 2050.

mehr Info

Maximale Sonnenenergie aus der Hausfassade

Ästhetisch und effizient zugleich: Die von der HTWK Leipzig und Fraunhofer CSP entwickelte Solar-Fassade »SOLAR.shell« erzeugt bis zu 50 Prozent mehr Sonnenenergie als herkömmlich angebrachte Solarmodule.

mehr Info

Mehr Effizienz, weniger Verluste

Ein vom Fraunhofer CSP entwickeltes Drittel-Zell-Modul erhöht durch ein spezielles Verschaltungsdesign die Effizienz des Moduls und reduziert zugleich die Verluste bei Verschattungen.

mehr Info

Fertigungslinie für Standard- und Sondermodule

Mit dem Modultechnologiezentrum bietet das Fraunhofer CSP Modulherstellern und Materiallieferanten für gemeinsame anwendungsorientierte Forschungsprojekte eine Plattform zur Entwicklung sämtlicher Herstellungsprozesse der Photovoltaikmodulproduktion .

mehr Info

Modultechnologie

Prozess- und Produktentwicklung für verbesserte Solarmodule

© Fraunhofer CSP

Roboter zur Zellstringablage.

Die Stromgestehungskosten sind der entscheidende Faktor bei Photovoltaik-Modulen. Mit unserer methodischen Fachkompetenz und der exzellenten Geräteausstattung unterstützen wir unsere Kunden dabei, diese Kosten zu senken. Das kann durch eine Leistungssteigerung (Cell-To-Modul Leistung – CTM), Prozessentwicklung für neue, kostengünstige Materialien oder neue, effizientere Technologien erreicht werden.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt im Kompetenzfeld Modultechnologie sind Sondermodule in speziellen Größen oder Formen, die wichtige Aufgaben für konkrete Photovoltaik-Anwendungen erfüllen und neue Anwendungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen. So entwickeln wir Produkte, Prozesse und Materialien unter anderem für den Einsatz in Gebäuden (BIPV – Building Integrated Photovoltaics) oder in mobilen Anwendungen (VIPV- Vehicle Integrated Photovoltaics).

 

Wir bieten:

  • Eine automatisierte Technologielinie zur Herstellung von Solarmodulen in allen Formaten bis zu 2.2m x 2.6m mit bis zu 5cm Dicke und eine manuelle Technologielinie zur Herstellung von Sondermodulen in Größen bis 1m x 2m mit bis zu 30cm Dicke.
  • Analytik zur Charakterisierung von Lötverbindungen sowie von optischen Eigenschaften von Solarmodulen und Solarmodulkomponenten
  • Simulation von optischen, elektrischen und thermischen Eigenschaften von Solarmodulen

Leistungsspektrum

 

Prozess- und Maß-
nahmenentwicklung für Leistungssteigerung und neue Materialien

 

Entwicklung neuer
Produkte für spezifische Anwendungen