Polymer Analytics und Assessment

© Fraunhofer CSP

Thermogravimetric analysis: determination of mass or mass change of a sample of PV encapsulation materials as a function of time and temperature.

We offer our customers comprehensive thermo-mechanical and chemical analytics of polymeric materials. The core competence lies in products from the fields of photovoltaics and laminated safety glass (LSG), such as EVA, PVB, polyolefins, PET and polycarbonates. A further focal point is processing using a wide variety of lamination techniques.

In the area of special analytics, we investigate gas permeation through barrier films and membranes. In addition to commercial equipment, we also use in-house methods. Thus, a multitude of gases and gas mixtures can be analyzed, even simultaneously.

Depending on customer requirements, we offer both standardized order analyses and complex cause and behavior analyses of polymer materials. In addition to individual orders, we also carry out extensive research and development projects with you.

Our research facility is certified according to DIN ISO 9001.


Services

  • Comprehensive characterization of polymer materials in our modern analytical laboratory (DSC, TGA, Rheology, DMA, TMA, FTIR, UV-Vis, TGA-FTIR, WVTR, Karl Fischer Titration, Yellowness Index, Extraction)
  • Ageing of polymers due to the influences of temperature, thermal cycling, humidity and UV radiation
  • Determination of barrier properties (transmission, permeation, breakdown times) of e.g. foils or membranes for various gases and gas mixtures (H2O, O2, H2S, CO2, etc.) as well as volatile liquids (e.g. acetic acid)
  • Lamination of e.g. solar modules or laminated safety glass with large formats (up to 220x260 cm) or 3-dimensional structures (up to 30 cm pitch height). Production of laminate test specimens and investigation of adhesion behaviour (peel tests)

Examples

© Fraunhofer CSP

Helium Transmission.

A high barrier effect, especially against water, is an essential quality feature of films for a wide range of applications. The water vapour transmission (WVTR) serves as a measure for this barrier property. As an alternative, we have an apparatus for quantifying helium transmission. This shortens the measurement time from approx. 24 hours to less than 1 hour. The transmission of other gases or gas mixtures (e.g. hydrogen sulphide) can also be determined in this way. These measurements serve as a basis for the calculation of diffusion coefficients.

Schulze, S.-H.; Ehrich, C.; Meitzner, R.; Pander, M. Prog. Photovoltaics Res. Appl. 2017, 25, 1051

© Fraunhofer CSP

Matthias Schak and Michael Wendt while equipping the 3D vacuum laminator.

With the 3D laminator from SM Innotech, laminates up to 120x220 cm can be produced by heating the upper and/or lower heating plate. The special: The laminator also allows an overall height of 30 cm in the 3rd dimension. This enables us to produce complex spatial structures by lamination.

The thermally activated spatial cross-linking of EVA (ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer) during the lamination of solar modules or laminated safety glass represents a decisive process step. The mechanical properties of EVA and EVA glass adhesion can be massively influenced by the choice of parameters. Incompletely converted crosslinkers (an organic peroxide) and remaining linear EVA chains (gel content) also have an influence on the long-term properties of the composite. The kinetics of the crosslinking reaction can be reliably determined by means of dynamic differential calorimetry (DSC). Supplementary tests with one of our laminators allow us to scale the laboratory results to technical equipment.

Ehrich, C.; Schulze, S.-H. News Analytik 2011, 1.

Polymeranalytik und Polymerbewertung

© Fraunhofer CSP

Thermogravimetrische Analyse: Bestimmung der Masse oder Massenänderung einer Probe von PV-Verkapselungsmaterialien in Abhängigkeit von Zeit und Temperatur.

Wir bieten unseren Kunden umfangreiche thermo-mechanische sowie chemische Analytik

polymerer Materialien. Die Kernkompetenz liegt bei Produkten aus den Bereichen Photovoltaik und Verbundsicherheitsglas (VSG), wie z.B. EVA, PVB, Polyolefine, PET und Polycarbonaten. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt stellt die Verarbeitung durch verschiedenste Techniken der Lamination dar.

Im Bereich Spezialanalytik untersuchen wir die Gaspermation durch Barrierefolien und Membranen. Neben kommerziellen Geräten kommen dabei auch selbstentwickelte Hausmethoden zum Einsatz. Dadurch können eine Vielzahl von Gasen und Gasgemischen, sogar gleichzeitig, analysiert werden.

Je nach Kundenwunsch bieten wir sowohl standardisierte Auftragsanalysen als auch komplexe Ursachen- und Verhaltensanalysen polymerer Werkstoffe an. Neben Einzelaufträgen realisieren wir mit Ihnen ebenfalls umfangreiche Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben.

Unsere Forschungseinrichtung ist nach DIN ISO 9001 zertifiziert.

Leistungen

  • umfassende Charakterisierung von Polymermaterialien in unserem modernen Analytiklabor (DSC, TGA, Rheologie, DMA, TMA, FTIR, UV-Vis, TGA-FTIR, WVTR, Karl-Fischer-Titration, Yellowness Index, Extraktion)
  • Alterung von Polymeren durch die Einflüsse von Temperatur, Temperaturwechselbeanspruchung, Feuchte und UV-Strahlung
  • Bestimmung der Barriereeigenschaften (Transmission, Permeation, Durchschlagszeiten) von z.B. Folien oder Membranen für verschiedenste Gase und Gasgemische (H­2O, O2, H2S, CO2, u.v.m.) sowie flüchtige Flüssigkeiten (z.B. Essigsäure)
  • Lamination von z.B. Solarmodulen oder Verbundsicherheitsgläsern mit großen Formaten (bis 220x260 cm) oder 3-dimensionalien Strukturen (bis 30 cm Stichhöhe). Herstellung von Laminat-Prüfkörpern und Untersuchung des Haftungsverhaltens (Peel-Tests)

Beispiele

© Fraunhofer CSP

Heliumtransmission

Eine hohe Barrierewirkung, insbesondere gegenüber Wasser, ist ein wesentliches Qualitätsmerkmal von Folien für verschiedenste Anwendungsbereiche. Die Wasserdampftransmission (WVTR) dient als Maß für diese Barriereeigentschaft. Als Alternative verfügen wir über eine Apparatur zur Quantifizierung der Heliumtransmission. Dadurch verkürzen sich die Messzeiten von ca. 24 Stunden auf weniger als 1 Stunde. Auch die Transmission anderer Gase oder Gasgemische (z.B. Schwefelwasserstoff) kann so ermittelt werden. Diese Messungen dienen als Grundlage zur Berechnung von Diffusionskoeffizienten.

Schulze, S.-H.; Ehrich, C.; Meitzner, R.; Pander, M. Prog. Photovoltaics Res. Appl. 2017, 25, 1051

© Fraunhofer CSP

Am 3D-Vakuumlaminator lassen sich Solarmodule mit gebogenen Formen verarbeiten.

Mit dem 3D-Laminator der Fa. SM Innotech können Laminate bis zu 120x220 cm durch Beheizen der oberen und/oder unten Heizplatte hergestellt werden. Das Besondere: Der Laminator erlaubt auch in der 3. Dimension eine Bauhöhe von 30 cm. Dadurch können komplexe räumliche Strukturen durch Lamination hergestellt werden.

Die thermisch aktivierte räumliche Vernetzung von EVA (Ethylen-Vinylacetat-Copolymer) während der Lamination von Solarmodulen oder Verbundsicherheitsglas stellt einen entscheidenden Prozessschritt dar. Durch die Wahl der Parameter können die mechanischen Eigenschaften des EVA sowie die EVA-Glas-Haftung massiv beeinflusst werden. Unvollständig umgesetzter Vernetzer (ein organisches Peroxid) sowie verbleibende lineare EVA-Ketten (Gelgehalt) haben zudem einen Einfluss auf die Langzeiteigenschaften des Verbundes. Mittels dynamischer Differenzkalorimetrie (DSC) kann die Kinetik der Vernetzungsreaktion zuverlässig bestimmt werden. Durch ergänzende Versuche mit einem unserer Laminatoren können die Laborergebnisse auf technische Anlagen skaliert werden.

Ehrich, C.; Schulze, S.-H. News Analytik 2011, 1.