Laser-generated Microstructures in Glass for Improved Light Management in Solar Modules

© Fraunhofer CSP

Abbildung 1: Schema der Strukturerzeugung im Glas mit Femtosekunden-Laser.

Researchers at the Fraunhofer Center for Silicon Photovoltaics CSP and the Hochschule Anhalt have developed a process, which will perspectively enhance the harvesting of sunlight incident on a solar module. This so-called light management has the goal to redirect that part of light to the active areas of solar cells, which is normally being lost for power generation (e.g., by reflection on the metal contacts or absorption in the spaces between the individual solar cells). For this purpose, femtosecond laser pulses have been used, because these are able to write optically functional structures under the surface of the front glass of solar modules by a non-contact and nondestructive process.

As shown schematically in Figure 1, the laser is being focused into the glass volume such that its refractive index is changed persistently in the focus of the laser beam, while the glass surfaces remain completely unchanged. For correct choice of the laser parameters, the glass remains completely transparent (no absorption losses), and no micro-cracks occur, i.e. the mechanical stability of glass remains intact. Therefore, basically arbitrary optical structures can be generated by scanning the laser over the area to be addressed. As an example, Figure 2 shows the effect of a simple, non-optimized diffraction grating (parallel lines in 6µm distance) on blue light: about 50 % of light under normal incidence (lightest point and highest peak in the middle) are diffracted to different propagation angles.

Currently work is in progress to optimize the structures with respect to their »redirection« efficiency. Basically the procedure comprises the ability to machine even complete (and already installed) solar modules, and thus to improve their power yield: due to the very tight focus of the laser and the consumption of a significant part of the pulse energy for the structural change in the glass, a solar cell below the glass will not be damaged during creation of the light management structures.

These results have been obtained by a cooperation between the Hochschule Anhalt and the Fraunhofer Center for Silicon Photovoltaics (CSP) in the framework of a research program funded by the BMBF (Kooperatives Forschungskolleg »StrukturSolar«). This research project is being continued.

Muchow, M.; Büchner, T.; Seifert, G.: Femtosecond Laser-induced optical microstructures inside glass volume for light management in solar modules. Proc. of 29th European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference and Exhibition (29th EU PVSEC), 22-26 September 2014, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. DOI: 10.4229/EUPVSEC20142014-1BV.6.57

Lasergenerierte Mikrostrukturen in Glas für besseres Lichtmanagement in Solarmodulen

© Foto Fraunhofer CSP

Abbildung 1: Schema der Strukturerzeugung im Glas mit Femtosekunden-Laser.

Forscher am Fraunhofer-Center für Silizium-Photovoltaik CSP und der Hochschule Anhalt haben ein Verfahren entwickelt, mit dem perspektivisch eine bessere Ausnutzung des auf ein Solarmodul fallenden Sonnenlichtes möglich wird. Ziel dieses so genannten Lichtmanagements ist es, den Anteil des Lichtes, der normalerweise z.B. auf die metallischen Kontakte oder die Zwischenräume zwischen den einzelnen Solarzellen eines Moduls trifft, auf die aktiven Flächen der Solarzellen umzuleiten. Dazu werden Femtosekunden-Laserpulse eingesetzt, die berührungslos und zerstörungsfrei optisch wirksame Strukturen unter die Oberfläche der Frontgläser von Solarmodulen einschreiben können.

Wie in Abbildung 1 schematisch gezeigt, wird der Laser dazu so ins Glasvolumen fokussiert, dass im Fokus des Laserstrahls die Brechzahl des Glases dauerhaft verändert wird, während die Oberflächen des Glases völlig unverändert bleiben. Bei richtiger Wahl der Laserparameter bleibt das Glas völlig transparent (keine Absorptionsverluste), und es entstehen auch keinerlei Mikrorisse, d.h. die mechanische Stabilität des Glases bleibt vollständig erhalten. Durch Scannen des Lasers über die Fläche lassen sich so grundsätzlich beliebige optische Strukturen erzeugen. Als Beispiel zeigt Abbildung 2 den Effekt eines einfachen, noch nicht optimierten Beugungsgitters (parallele Linien in 6µm Abstand) auf blaues Licht: rund 50 % des senkrecht eingestrahlten Lichts (hellster Punkt bzw. höchster Peak in der Mitte) werden auf andere Winkel umgelenkt.

Derzeit wird daran gearbeitet, die Strukturen auf ihre »Umleitungs«-Wirkung hin zu optimieren. Grundsätzlich bietet das Verfahren die Möglichkeit, fertige Solarmodule – auch nachträglich – zu bearbeiten, und damit deren Stromertrag zu verbessern: die starke Fokussierung des Lasers und der Verbrauch der Pulsenergie im Glas für die Strukturveränderung führen dazu, dass die unter dem Glas liegende Solarzelle beim Erzeugen der Lichtmanagement-Strukturen nicht beschädigt wird.

Diese Ergebnisse sind in Kooperation zwischen der Hochschule Anhalt und dem Fraunhofer-Center für Silizium-Photovoltaik (CSP) im Rahmen des vom BMBF geförderten kooperativen Forschungskollegs »StrukturSolar« entstanden. Das Forschungsprojekt wird dort auch noch weitergeführt.

Veröffentlichung:

Muchow, M.; Büchner, T.; Seifert, G.: Femtosecond Laser-induced optical microstructures inside glass volume for light management in solar modules. Proc. of 29th European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference and Exhibition (29th EU PVSEC), 22-26 September 2014, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. DOI: 10.4229/EUPVSEC20142014-1BV.6.57