The Next Level for Thin-film Solar Modules

Exhausting the potential of solar modules based on cadmium telluride (CdTe) and making it usable for production on an industrial scale is the objective of a joint project of the Fraunhofer CSP and Calyxo GmbH.

more info

Quality Control with Raman Spectroscopy

Raman spectroscopy allows to detect and analyze impurities in the material of solar cells during production. Together with partners, the Fraunhofer CSP wants to further develop this idea.

more info

Precise LID Testing for PERC Cells

PERC cells can lose performance due to LID. The test device LID Scope, developed by the Fraunhofer CSP, determines how strongly they are affected.

more info

Diagnostics of Solar Cells

© Fraunhofer CSP

Dr. Christian Hagendorf using PIDcon test device.

Performance, reliability and cost efficiency are the decisive characteristics of a perfect solar cell. The »Diagnostics of Solar Cell« group is working on these issues, supported by industrial sponsors and partners in research and development. The teams »Electric Characterization«, »c-Si Defect Diagnostics« and »Thin-film Characterization« set the standards for quality assurance and failure analysis in photovoltaics. To this end, a broad spectrum of material-scientific methods are available – ranging from trace element analytics over quantum efficiency all the way to atomic microstructure diagnostics.

Research activities span from the characterization of the crystalline solar silicon to the microstructure-based failure diagnostics for the thin-film photovoltaic industry. In addition, new layer systems and laser structuring methods are being developed for the next generation of solar cells.

 

We offer:

  • Rapid testing tools for module defects such as PID
  • Electric characterization of solar cell, wafers and blocks
  • Microstructure diagnostics on crystalline solar cells and thin-film modules

Range of Services

 

c-Si Defect Diagnostics from Modules down to Atom

 

Thin Film-PV: Micro Analytics and Laser Processing

 

Surface and Film Characterization

 

Electrical Characterization

Neue Materialien für Dünnschichtsolarmodule

Dünnschicht-Solarmodule auf Basis von Cadmiumtellurid (CdTe) verbinden hohen Wirkungsgrad mit niedrigeren Herstellungskosten. Damit das nicht nur im Labor, sondern auch im Industriemaßstab funktioniert, kooperieren Fraunhofer CSP und Calyxo in einem neuen Projekt.

mehr Info

Susanne Richter vom Fraunhofer CSP ausgezeichnet

Für ihre Doktorarbeit zu Kristallisationsprozessen von Silizium für die Photovoltaik erhält Susanne Richter den Heinz-Bethge-Nachwuchspreis.

Qualitätskontrolle mit Raman-Spektroskopie

Raman-Spektroskopie kann es möglich machen, Verunreinigungen im Material von Solarzellen während der Produktion zu erkennen und analysieren. Gemeinsam mit Partnern will das Fraunhofer CSP diese Idee weiterentwickeln.

mehr Info

Präziser LID-Test für PERC-Zellen

PERC-Zellen können durch LID an Leistung einbüßen. Wie stark sie betroffen sind, ermittelt das vom Fraunhofer CSP entwickelte Testgerät LID Scope.

mehr Info

Diagnostik Solarzellen

Dem kleinsten Fehler auf der Spur

© Foto Fraunhofer CSP

Dr. Christian Hagendorf beim Bestücken des PIDcon.

Leistung, Zuverlässigkeit und Kosteneffizienz sind die entscheidenden Kennwerte für die perfekte Solarzelle. Gemeinsam mit industriellen Auftraggebern sowie  Partnern in Forschung und Entwicklung arbeitet die Gruppe »Diagnostik Solarzellen« an diesen Themen. Die Teams »Elektrische Charakterisierung«, »c-Si Defektdiagnostik« und »Dünnschichtcharakterisierung« setzen Maßstäbe in der Qualitätssicherung und Schadensanalyse der Photovoltaik. Dafür steht ein breites Spektrum materialwissenschaftlicher Methoden zur Verfügung – von der Spurenelementanalytik über die Quanteneffizienz bis hin zur atomaren Mikrostrukturdiagnostik.

Forschungsaktivitäten reichen von der Charakterisierung des kristallisierten Solarsiliziums bis zur mikrostrukturbasierten Defektdiagnostik für die Dünnschicht-Photovoltaikindustrie. Darüber hinaus werden in internationalen Kooperationen neue Schichtsysteme und Laserstrukturierungen für die Solarzellen der nächsten Generation entwickelt.

 

Wir bieten:

  • Schnelltestgeräte für Moduldefekte wie PID
  • Elektrische Charakterisierung von Solarzellen, Wafern und Blöcken
  • Mikrostrukturdiagnostik an kristallinen Solarzellen und Dünnschichtmodulen

Leistungsspektrum

 

c-Si-Defektdiagnostik vom Modul bis zum Atom

 

Dünnschicht-PV: Mikroanalytik und Laserstrukturierung

 

Elektrische Charakterisierung